The General Assembly and Executive Board

The BATTERY 2030+ consortium is composed of 17 partners (beneficiaries). The ultimate decision-making body of the consortium is the General Assembly, which is composed of the Project Coordinator, the Deputy Project Coordinator and of one representative from each beneficiary.

The Executive Board is the supervisory body responsible for the proper execution and implementation of the decisions of the General Assembly and for monitoring the effective and efficient implementation of the initiative.

The Executive Board is composed of the Project Coordinator (chair of the Executive Board), the Deputy Coordinator, the Project Manager and the work package leaders for the work packages 1, 2 and 3.

Key roles

The Project Officer is the representative of the European Commission vis-a-vis the Project Coordinator and the Project General Assembly.

The Project Coordinator is the legal entity acting as the intermediary between the beneficiaries and the Commission. The Project Coordinator is responsible – among other tasks defined by the Grant Agreement and the Consortium Agreement – for:

→ Chairing the Project General Assembly and the Project Executive Board, and taking all necessary actions to enable proper decision making and execution by these bodies;

→ Fostering the use of the communication and management tools in order to sustain operational consistency within the initiative;

→ Ensuring smooth operation of the initiative and guaranteeing that all efforts are focused towards the objectives;

→ Submitting all required periodic and final reports, deliverables and financial statements to the Commission;

→ Transferring the advance payments and final payments to the beneficiaries’ respective financial officers as per the provisional budget and the actual expenses approved by the Commission;

→ The Project Coordinator relies on the Project Manager and the Deputy Project Coordinator.

The Deputy Project Coordinator is responsible for the overall scientific coordination of the initiative. These duties include:

→ Monitoring and control of the implementations of scientific activities;

→ Ensuring timely release and accuracy of scientific deliverables and scientific parts of the periodic and final reports.

The Project Manager provides the beneficiaries with a professional managerial capacity to lead the actual implementation of the high-level strategic decisions of the Project General Assembly on a day-to-day basis. The Project Manager is acting in a consultative capacity for the Project General Assembly.

The Advisory Board

The Advisory Board plays the role of an ecosystem for providing inputs for running the initiative. The Advisory Board in essence provides feedback in order to help align the BATTERY 2030+ initiative results and the expectations of the different communities (research community, industrials, Member State, Public). Additionally, the Advisory Board contributes to reaching a considerable visibility of the initiative results at the European level. It is currently composed of the following European or national organisations:

Alistore: A European battery research network federating about 22 universities and research institutes and 6 companies performing cross cutting high level research in the field of batteries and battery materials.

CIC energigune: CIC energigune is a research centre devoted to energy storage with headquarters in the Basque Country which aims to become an international benchmark in its field. The centre has the backing of public institutions and administrations, and of companies directly related to the energy sector.

CLEPA: CLEPA is the voice of European automotive suppliers, representing over 3.000 companies which employ 5.000.000 employees, invest over €20 billions yearly in R&I and provide solutions for safe, smart and sustainable mobility.

EARPA: The European automotive research partners association, gathering more than 50 members ranging from large and small companies to national institutes and universities.

EERA: The European Energy Research Alliance, an alliance bringing together more than 170 universities and research centers, including more than 20 groups directly involved in battery research.

EIT InnoEnergy and EIT Raw Materials: Two European organizations supporting innovation projects, business creation and education programs, in order to address the challenges of sustainable energy and sustainable material supply, respectively.

ENEA: ENEA is the Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development, a public body aimed at research, technological innovation and the provision of advanced services to enterprises, public administration and citizens in the sectors of energy, the environment and sustainable economic development.

Eurobat: The Association of European Automotive and Industrial Battery Manufacturers, bringing together more than 50 companies.

Faraday Institution: The Faraday Institution is the UK’s independent institute for electrochemical energy storage science and technology, supporting research, training, and analysis.

IMEC: IMEC is the world-leading R&D and innovation hub in nanoelectronics and digital technologies.

KLIB: The German competence network of excellence for lithium-ion batteries.

RS2E: The French research network on electrochemical energy storage.

SEC: The Swedish Electro-Mobility Center including five universities and four automotive companies.